I’m not quite sure why read this book. I don’t much care for celebrities and I honestly don’t even know the names of half of them in this book. All I can remember is watching TMZ Live one night and Kathy Griffin was on it talking about the book so I thought I’d take a look at it if I could find it at the library. It was there so I borrowed it.

It’s obviously about all the movie, television, reality stars, and such who the comedian has met through her long career. The book is an alphabetical listing of them with little vignettes about Kathy’s celebrity run-ins.

Cher, Gloria Estefan, Rosie O’Donnell, Joan Rivers, and Jane Fonda are undoubtedly her friends and the stories she tells about them are kind of interesting but most of the others are nothing more than a brief meeting that Ms. Griffin had with others.

Most of the time Kathy relates how she kind of forced herself on celebrities, like Leonardo DiCaprio, just to get their attention and I have no qualms with that. That’s what Kathy Griffin does and I kind of give her kudos for being brave enough to do those things. But these stories aren’t all that interesting.

I met Abe Vigoda (Fish from the television show Barney Miller) on the D Train in Brooklyn quite a few years ago. He told me he was going to Kings Highway to see his mother who was in a nursing home there. He was very nice and talkative. I’ve also met Raul Julia a long time ago when he was in the Broadway Musical Nine. Well, my mother kind of intruded on his meal at Sardi’s and told him how we just saw his performance. I was mortified at my mother but the actor took it in stride. He was charming, hugged my mom, gave her a kiss, and signed her Playbill. I guess you can say my mom was like Kathy Griffin, pushy.

The reason why I mention these encounters, and lucky for you I won’t bore you with details of other celebrity meetings I’ve had, is to say that many of Ms. Griffin’s celebrity run-ins weren’t all that special. Many of us have had run-ins with celebrities that were just as plain and ordinary as some that Kathy had.

For instance, she and Kendall Jenner were waiting for their cars at a restaurant in Los Angeles. Kendall’s car arrived right in front  of Kathy’s. Kathy made some remark, like calling Kendall “Candle.” Kendall threatened her with death with a smile on her face, backed up nearly hitting Kathy’s car, and then roared off. All I’m saying is that many stories in this book are ordinary.

True, most of us will never get a chance to meet all the celebrities Kathy has and many of us don’t care one way of the other if we ever do meet them.

What I was disappointed mostly in was with the writing. I was expecting and hoping to see more of Kathy’s humor. She’s a pretty funny comedian and just wish some of that funniness was included. Mostly, the book was rather bland.

If you like celebrity gossip this is a fun enough book and very easy to read. I breezed through it in a little over a day. The stories are very short, usually just a few pages long.

Try to borrow “Kathy Griffin’s Celebrity Run-Ins: My A-Z Index” don’t spend money on it. Nothing too terrible here but nothing worth $25 either.

Leave a Reply

